//
sport watch, sporting role models

Holly Rush, marathon and ultra runner

If your New Year’s resolution involves running, then we have just the inspiration for you! Holly Rush is a marathon and ultra runner. She has represented GB at the European Championships in Barcelona 2010, 8th Commonwealth Games, and Delhi 2010. Holly won the Ultravassen 90k in Sweden this year and has previously won the Edinburgh and Pisa marathons. She is a proud Asics Ambassador and Chia Charge Ambassador.

Holly-Rush-portraitQ. What was your first experience of sport? How did that develop to where you are now?

I hadn’t been a sporty person at school. I didn’t start running until my 20s, as a fun runner. It was about 10 years ago that I really started training. I ran my first marathon because I went to watch the London Marathon and felt inspired by the different types of people running the race. I decided to try the following year.

Q. Who were your sporting role models as a child? How about now?

I was and still am inspired by the people at the back of races as they are the ones who are out their the longest especially in ultras and they still come in with a smile on their face.

Q. How would you motivate someone to get active and engaged in sport?

I would encourage anyone to take up running. It has opened so many doors and opportunities for me. You get to meet great people and bask in the warm glow after a run Holly-Rush-running– there really is nothing like it. Running really can change your life in so many ways, and all you really need is a pair of trainers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Fixtures

No upcoming events

