//
sport watch, sporting role models

Rosie Allison, Team Bath Netball Superleague shooter

Rosie-1-Team-Bath-Netball

If sport is your thing, then Rosie Allison is your role model. Rosie is rated as one of England’s most talented young shooters and plays netball for Team Bath – the most successful team in the history of the Netball Superleague.

Rosie has been part of Team Bath since she was 16 years old. The team have won five of the nine campaigns contested to date.

Rosie would love to have your support at all of the upcoming Team Bath home fixtures at the University of Bath Sports Training Village. Doors open at 6:45pm with games starting at 7:45pm. The next home fixture is 9 February. To purchase tickets online, visit Ticketline.

1.What was your first experience of sport? How did that develop to where you are now?

My whole family play sport. I have three brothers and we have all represented England or GB at our sports: netball, basketball and volleyball. So I’ve been brought up in a sporting environment. I think people were surprised that I didn’t go into basketball as I spent a lot of my childhood watching my brothers play. My Mum was very supportive, even building us a mini basketball/netball court in our back garden instead of the pond that she wanted (we are not a normal family!). I joined my first netball team when I was 12 years old. I was staying at a friend’s house and her Mum sent us down to the local courts in Worthing, Sussex on a Sunday morning with £1 each for a netball session. I think she wanted to get us out from under her feet – but I am very grateful she did. I turned up, a lanky 12 year old and was never able to leave.

Rosie-2-Team-Bath-NetballFrom club, I was selected for county (Sussex) U14s. At 14 years old, I was scouted and invited to trial for England, where I was selected for the England U21 squad. I moved to Bath at 16 years old in order to be coached, train and play with high level players/coaches based at The University of Bath. I played my first World Youth Champs at the age of 17 and made the England senior national squad when I was 18 years old. During this time, I completed my GCSEs in Sussex, my A-levels in Bath, my BSc Biology at the University of Bath and am now studying for my MSc Public Health at UWE.

2. Who were your sporting role models as a child? How about now?

My role models growing up were my older brothers, who are both basketball players. We would have shooting competitions at our posts in our back garden. I think I had my worst shooting stats as I was growing up because every time I shot, my brothers would jump and tip it out before it would even go near the hoop (they’re now 6ft 6″-9″). I don’t really know why I pursued it, because they rarely allowed me to score, but I don’t shy away from a challenge.

Now, I get inspiration from every one of my team-mates who are amazing athletes and challenge me to be a better netballer.

3. Was there ever a time when you almost gave up and, if so, what made you keep going?

Yes, too many  times!! I recently made the long squad for the Commonwealth Games, but didn’t make the final cut. This was the hardest thing for me to go through and my immediate reaction was to give up. I had given my all but was told it just wasn’t good enough, which is very hard to hear. However, I’m only 22 years old and would live with a lifetime of regret if I stopped now, not knowing what I could have been/done. While my body is still able to meet the demands of the intense training and matchplay, I need to keep going and I will make it next time…watch out!!

4. How would you motivate someone to get active and engaged in sport?

To me, team sport is the best! It can be difficult to find the motivation to go to the gym or for a run, alone; but that’s what team-mates are for!!  Team mates are there to challenge you to push harder, whilst providing the motivation to keep you going when you want to quit.  Also, I get the same intensity of activity from team training/matches, but it’s fun. Plus, being competitive, I like to win, so will not stop until that happens!
Rosie-3-Australia-v-England5. How important are sports fans and audience to you as a sports-person and your sport?

Live sports fans are like the 8th player of our team on the court. At Bath, we have a great fan base who support us weekly and we aim to put on a good performance for them. Fans’ cheers can motivate you to keep going, jump higher and push on in a match, so they are great! One of the best pieces of feedback is when we turn non-netballers into fans. People tend to be impressed with the speed and physicality of the game. It is no longer just a schoolgirl sport! We are athletes and we compete!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Fixtures

No upcoming events

